TEC Forums

Notifications
Clear all

PvP Mechanics Updated Needed

Lucky24
(@lucky24)

Some background:

I started playing TEC back in 2000 because a bunch of my high school friends played. PepaQuest set a remarkable theme of a grungy, scary world where pickpockets were around every corner and rats could kill you. When you died, you died for real. I probably got around 20-30 ranks and never left the sewers.

In 2007 I came back so I could learn programming in a fun way and try to outsmart the GMs who tried to catch me scripting in a client called PortalGT, which could only have 10 scripts of 100 lines each active at any given time, in a horrid scripting language with a huge amount of boilerplate. I managed to write a script to loot rats and wander to the baths and back in that small amount of code, and even avoid PCs attacking me.

Part of the fun of scripting was the thrill of possibly getting caught. I toyed with making a bandit multiple times so I could get some "good loot" (a lorica without bent links! a faceplate!), but never actually knocked out or looted any PC with whom the crime org I joined did not already have a PK ticket open on. That being said, I never wandered around with a good (iron, retalq or boison) weapon or armor unless heading to a SilverWolves fight night, and then the stuff went straight back to the bank, for fear of loss.

I've left the game and come back multiple times to work on scripts and enjoy fight nights, and get the one thing TEC has over any other game: complex combat and RPin an open world that has permanent consequences. The biggest of those are the consequences for AFK botting, which I strongly believe should be handled ICly first. But, that should be debated.